Mark Rotko o svojoj umetnosti

Mark Rothko, Untitled, 1967.

Mark Rothko, Untitled, 1967.

Mark Rothko, No. 61 (Rust and Blue), 1953.

Mark Rothko, No. 61 (Rust and Blue), 1953.

„I do not believe that there was ever a question of being abstract or representational. It is really a matter of ending this silence and solitude, of breathing, and stretching one’s arms again transcendental experiences became possible.“

„It’s a risky business to send a picture out into the world. How often it must be impaired by the eyes of the unfeeling and the cruelty of the impotent who could extend their affliction universally!“

„You might as well get one thing straight. I am not an abstractionist.. I am not interested in the relationship of color or form or anything else. I am interested only in expressing basic human emotions – tragedy, ecstasy, doom and so on. And the fact that a lot of people break down and cry when confronted with my pictures shows that I can communicate those basic human emotions. The people who weep before my pictures are having the same religious experience I had when I painted them. And if you, as you say, are moved only by their color relationships then you miss the point.“

Ostavite odgovor

